moms to motorcycles

Celebrating the little things in life through struggles, hardships, and challenges with God, kids, motorcycles, and everything in between!

Oh the joys…

In my first post, I commented that my hubby had an emergency appendectomy.  Well, it wouldn’t have been an emergency if he would have listened to his own mother…or his wife (that would be me)….but no…he waited, like most men I know.  Anyways, we head to the ER on a warm Sunday morning.  Did I mention he was suppose to preach for our pastor who was on vacation that week?  No?  Yep…he was doing the church service.  Well, that went out the window along with a lot of other things.

We quickly tell our other two kids that we are leaving, load up the little guy, strap him into the car seat, and my hubby…ok, his name is Billy…gets into the driver seat. Yep.  He drives himself to the ER!  After a long hour of driving, we get into the room and as I sit down to await the terrible news, my ornery boy promptly stands on my lap and pushes the CODE BLUE button!  AH!   A great start to an already fabulous day.  Thank the Lord he wasn’t strong enough to push it totally in.  No rushing nurses or doctors this time for a false alarm.

As the day progresses, we get the devastating news that yes, it is his appendix, and yes, he will have surgery.  Stage left…I go to change the little guy in the bathroom only to find that he has pooped clear up his back and neck.  Well, guess what?  Didn’t think to grab that extra pair of clothes “in…case…of…emergency.”  I promptly drive to the local Walmart and purchase clothes, socks, more diapers, and wipes seeing as how I used up what I had to give him a “bath”.  Just imagine the looks I received walking in with a naked baby only wearing his coat and a diaper.  Oh well, if you are a mother, you understand.

Oh the joys…

Try keeping a several month old boy busy while waiting several hours for surgery, recovery, and eventually time in a hospital room.  Needless to say, my other two kids took care of mom the rest of the evening once we arrived home.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

